Irish Open Tenpin Bowling Championship | Women’s Championship 1991

Stillorgan Bowl, Dublin | 27 January 1991

Stepladder Final

1Gina WardleGreat Britain
2Pauline SmithNetherlands
3Kilmberley CookeGreat Britain
4Lena SulvanenDenmark

Reference: [1]

Stepladder Results

Player 1 Player 2 
Gina Wardle192Lena Sulvanen170
Gina Wardle190Kimberley Cooke151
Gina Wardle204Pauline Smith179

Reference: [1]

Semi-Finals (After 7 Games)

1Pauline SmithGreat Britain1453
2Kimberley CookeGreat Britain1438
3Lena SulvanenDenmark1414
4Gina WardleGreat Britain1391
5Karen BartoolGreat Britain1381
6Tracy DewGreat Britain1342
7Ruth MotnauerGreat Britain1239
8Jeanne LooverbaschNetherlands1173

Reference: [1]


There were no Irish Qualifiers for the Semi-Finals, which were dominated by Great British players, making up 6 of the 8 contestants.

Gina Wardle, who finished 4th in the Semi-Final Round, won three matches in a row in the Final Stepladder to take the title, beating Pauline Smith, a fellow British player in the Final.




[1] Anon. (1991) “The A-Z of Weekend Sport | Tenpin Bowling” Irish Independent. Monday, 28 January 1991. Pg. 20.


Thanks to Dervla Mulcahy

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 1 August 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply