Basketball Ireland National League Men’s Super League 2016-2019

Basketball Ireland Logo

BI Men’s Super League 2016-17

*Griffith Swords Thunder221931902151854
*Garvey’s Tralee Warriors221751773159051
*UCD Marian221751871165651
*Pyrobel Killester221391683160139
*UCC Demons2212101776182736
SSE Airtricity Moycullen229131730178427
DCU Saints227151628175421 Eanna226161568174618
Belfast Star226161564171718
KUBS BC225171526173115
=Radisson Blu UL Eagles22121138717713


MSL Champions Trophy

DateHome Team Away Team 
 Maree67Garvey’s Tralee Warriors82
 Ulster University Elks56UCD Marian80
 Semi-Finals (LYIT)   
 Templeogue71UCD Marian64
 Griffith Swords Thunder64Garvey’s Tralee Warriors64
 Final (LYIT)   
 Templeogue73Garvey’s Tralee Warriors74ot


BI Men’s Super League 2017-18

*UCD Marian231851863164654
*Pyrobel Killester231761964169251
*Black Amber Templeogue221661939180248
*Garveys Tralee Warriors221661761162148
*Griffith College Swords Thunder221481807157542
*UCC Demons221391965185239
Belfast Star219121555153527
DCU Saints228141738195024
=KUBS BC22220149019326


DateHome Team Away team 
 Promotion/Relegation Playoff (Waterford)   


MSL Champions Trophy

DateHome Team Away team 
18.03.2018Black Amber Templeogue90UCC Demons77
18.03.2018Garvey’s Tralee Warriors78Griffith College Swords Thunder71
21.03.2018Pyrobel Killester73Black Amber Templeogue75
22.03.2018UCD Marian78Garvey’s Tralee Warriors82
24.03.2018Black Amber Templeogue61Garvey’s Tralee Warriors73


BI Men’s Super League 2018-19

*Garveys Tralee Warriors201641741157048
*UCD Marian201371629148739
*Pyrobel Killester201281581151936
*Belfast Star201281693159936
*DCU Saints2010101579165830
UCC Demons209111621168327
Keanes SuperValu Killorglin206141555164918
CandS Neptune204161599180612
Griffith College Swords Thunder000000


MSL Champions Trophy

DateHome Team Away team 
30.03.19UCD Marian43Belfast Star84
30.03.19Templeogue BC108DCU Saints95
31.03.19Garveys Tralee Warriors65Belfast Star81
31.03.19Pyrobel Killester84Templeogue BC88
 Final @DCU 
14.04.19Belfast Star62Templeogue BC77


Points System: 3 Pts Win / 0 Pts Loss / Tied teams separated by Points Difference (PF – PA)

c – Super League Champions / x – Qualify for Champions Trophy Semi-Finals / y – Qualify for Champions Trophy Quarter-Finals / q – Enter Promotion-Relegation Playoff / r – relegated to Division 1


The Super League brand was re-introduced in 2016-17, with Templeogue winning the League title, but losing out in overtime 74-73 to Tralee Warriors in the Champions Trophy Playoff Final. Tralee Warriors repeated the feat the following year, again defeating Templeogue in the Final, after UCD Marian won the League. 

Templeogue finally won the Playoff title in 2018-19, beating  Belfast Star 77-62 in the Champions Trophy Final, after Tralee Warriors had won the League.




[2] Basketball Ireland (2018) Mens Super League [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 28 March 2017]

[3] Basketball Ireland (2018) Mens Champions Trophy [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 28 March 2017]

[4] Basketball Ireland (2018) Results & Reaction: League Finals April 1st and 2nd [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 3 April 2017]

[5] Basketball Ireland (2018) Mens Super League [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 26 March 2018]

[6] Basketball Ireland (2018) Mens Champions Trophy [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 12 March 2018]

[7] Basketball Ireland (2018) Recap: Neptune secure promotion while Templeogue win in OT [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 26 March 2018]

[8] Basketball Ireland (2018) History [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 26 May 2018]

[9] Basketball Ireland (2018) Mens Super League [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 28 March 2019]

[10] Basketball Ireland (2018) MSL Champions Trophy [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 23 April 2019]


[1] Sligo Sports and Recreation (2017) Basketball Ireland logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 10 March 2017]


Thanks to John Folan.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 7 August 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply